Are you like me?

Addicted to music that you obsess over songs that play over and over in your head?  It’s so insane.  Music has always been my words when I couldn’t speak and the melody I didn’t have.  I live on music.

I got a couple of albums for Christmas and I became completely enthralled with the first one Royal Blood, by Royal Blood.*  For months I was emeshed with this album until it was pumping through my brain over and over.  This went on until I finally got around to listening to the second one. Every word, beat, and rif was my story and I have been hooked ever since.  It is the Herion Diaries Soundtrack, by Sixx am.*

It is about the story of drug addiction and the fight to get clean and while I could relate to that part of the story, I found myself drawn in to what the music was telling me about recoverying from my own childhood abuse and being bipolar.

For me it described with great feelings and emotions of the see-saw rollercoaster of being bipolar, ripping apart the seams of the abuse I suffered as a child.  The entire album is about recovery and I think most of us can relate to that.

I think it is really rare to find an artist who truly speaks to you through their own words.  I have found many songs that might do it, but it’s been a long time since I’ve found an entire album that can go right through me and explain my life.

*Click these links to hear the first two songs by these two groups that sold me on them.  Check them out for yourself.  🙂

One thought on “Are you like me?

Share with me...

